Information and extract of rules

A Sea Swim in the River Tay Estuary

Entry Form

Enter Online


Championship Tayport Cup
Distance 1 miles - Crossing the river
Date of Swim Sunday 11th of June, 2017
Time of Swim 16:30
Entry Cost £20 (£12 if supplying own Boat & Crew
Closing Date Thursday 11th of May, 2017
Eligibility First & Second Claim Club Members
Age Groups

Junior - 13 to 16 years in year of swim.

Senior - 17 years and over in year of swim.

Tide High Tide
Stroke(s) Freestyle/Breaststroke


Briefing Briefing will take place on the day at the YeAABA Clubhouse at 16:00, prompt. The briefing will take place outdoors so please ensure you bring warm clothing.
Start On the starters/referees instruction, swimmers should promptly access the water via the harbour slipway or ladder, and line up accross the mouth of the harbour. Start will be by loud hailer or whistle.
Course This is a point-to-point, across the tide-ways swim from Broughty Ferry Harbour to Tayport Harbour and the line is as straight as the currents and your ability permits. You MUST follow your boat at all times. This swim is run under YeAABA Club Championship rules.
Finish By touching the river-facing wall to the west of Tayport Harbour entrance. N.B. A swimmer finishing, but missing the touch due to tidal conditions will be accorded with a certificate but no official time or place in the race.
Costumes Free parking is available at Tayport Harbour and at the YeAABA pier, Broughty Ferry. Swimmers should arrange their own transport from Tayport, returning in a boat is not an option.
Presentation Presentation of Awards will take place after the swim by courtesy of the Bell Rock Tavern adjacent to the harbour. The following Categories will be awarded:


Junior Girls Championship
The Hart Trophy
Senior Ladies Championship
Tayport Cup
Senior Ladies Breaststroke
Evelyn Kirkland Memorial Trophy
Junior Boys Championship
The McIntosh Cup
Senior Gents Championship
Tayport Town Council Trophy
Senior Gents Breaststroke
Saunderson Family Trophy


In addition to the annual awards 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place finishers in each category will be awarded a unique
‘Ian D. McIntosh’ medal in Gold, Silver or Bronze. All finishers will receive a personalized certificate.



See Our Supporters >>